Posted in Anime

Mob Psycho 100

Kageyama Shigeo (a.k.a. “Mob”) is a 8th grader with psychic abilities. He could bend spoons and lift objects with his mind from a young age, but he slowly began to withhold from using his abilities in public due to the negative attention he kept receiving. Now, the only thing he wants is to become friends with a girl in his class, Tsubomi. With his psychic “mentor” (who has no psychic powers), he continues his daily life, attempting to realize his purpose in life.- Copied directly from MAL.

 

I would have started with Mob Psycho way earlier if I had paid attention to the summary more properly. “Psychic abilities”- that’s like my number one condition while searching for anime.  While admittedly, my love for supernatural follows more along the lines of Ghost Hunt or Shinrei Tantei Yakumo, or even Natsume Yuujinchou, Mob Psycho 100 was one cool ride.

Considering it’s from Studio Bones, the visuals and art were as good as they could be, and that’s a given. Bones never really emerges into the market without their best work at hand(If it isn’t clear, I love works from Bones).

I think the best way to explain Mob Psycho 100 would be delightfully whimsical. It’s got a wide range of characters, villains who are sort of cliche(though it is laughed upon) but entertaining nonetheless,  and tremendous character development in twelve episodes.

Mob, or Kageyama Shigeo is such an endearing character. You sort of want to wrap him up in a blanket and watch him kick others ass at the same time. Despite being how strong he is psychically, he is beyond average in almost everything else. Combined with that the power to destroy others when he reaches his 100%, and having no control over it at that time, scares him to no end.(He is also really cool when he gets mad.) I liked Mob, more  because he reminded him of myself. I am not a psychic, of course, but I no what’s it like to bottle up your feelings until one day a dam sort of bursts, and you end up taking it out on everyone around you.

screenshot_20170122-211931

This is where Mob’s master, Reigen Arataka comes in, and while he might be a fake, and he is basically using Mob, he is also Mob’s greatest support system, and despite everything, is extremely protective of Mob. He is pretty much the person who manages to get Mob’s outburst level into 0%. He is also the voice of reason, the philosopher. An adult for all his mistakes, still very much an adult.

screenshot_20170122-051338

And in this mix, we have Kageyama Ritsu, Mob’s brother, whose relationship with Mob, unlike simple hate or love relationship in other anime’s, is quite complex. Ritsu is also the character who grows through the most character development.

All the other characters have their own special moments, and while some fit into the cliche, they are still entertaining.

screenshot_20170122-194919

If we come to the villains,  they appear cliche at best, and I got the feeling they were never supposed to be anything other than that. As Reigen pointed out, they might be adults in age, but they were in reality children who never grew up.

From the first episode, I had originally assumed it to be a character driven anime, and while it is so, it’s got a pretty strong plot too. It’s comedic moments and no nonsense attitude is another thing to love about it.

The anime, at it’s heart, is about Mob and surprisingly, showing there is nothing wrong with being different, and how that difference can be for the good of others.

Mob Psycho 100 might not be perfect, but it is in fact a very good blend of comedy, supernatural and action.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mob Psycho 100

  1. While I love most of the work from Bones, I couldn’t stand the look of Mob Psycho. It wasn’t bad, it just did not appeal to me and that made it hard to care about any of the characters which very quickly made the show pretty tedious to watch. I know lots of people love it but this is one I just don’t ever see me finishing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I sort of do understand how you feel, while Mob Psycho 100 was okay for me, I hated how Soul Eater looked. Well, Bones is like that, they always follow the original artwork with good animation.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. See, I loved Soul Eater, but it did take awhile to get there. WHen I first saw it I thought it was ugly but it grew on me and then I just couldn’t see it looking any other way. Totally subjective that sort of appeal.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

